Pining for the West

Velvet patchwork. | March 17, 2009

Velvet patchwork and applique throw.

I’m a bit of a fabric  freak but I promised myself that I wouldn’t buy any more until I had used up some of my stash. As I had loads of bits of velvet and corduroy left over from wayback (decades ago if I’m honest) a crazy patchwork item seemed to be calling. So, here it is, madly clashing colours and all. The applique bits were intended for a hexagonal patchwork quilt which I was never going to get around to completing as it was hand  sewn and took forever. Anyway, I like it and it is very warm as apart from the velvet there is a layer of wadding, an old flannelette sheet and a backing of upholstery fabric. Unfortunately I had a bit of trouble keeping all the layers flat  and immobile. I just used ordinary sewing pins as I worked and discovered too late of course that I should have used safety pins to stop the fabric from moving about. So, it’s  a bit rumpled and bumpled here and there.

If you want to make a super-simple recycled quilt, go to Diane Gilleland’s article on CraftStylish.

Posted in Crafts, Textiles
Tags: ,

1 Comment »

  1. I think it’s lovely! I too made a crazy patchwork quilt years ago, and I know exactly what you mean about the rumpling! I used an old cotton sheet as a base and machined the pieces. I embroidered round bits of the surface (where some seams met), but I still got bumpy bits! And I know exactly what you mean by your ‘stash’. I can’t resist beautiful scraps of textiles myself. It’s so hard to actually use them though isn’t it! I’m also like that with unusual scraps of paper! Must be the squirrel in me lol!
    Kind Regards

    Comment by echostains — October 12, 2009 @ 12:12 pm


Leave a Reply

