Pining for the West

Winter Solstice | December 22, 2009

Yesterday was the winter solstice and I had intended writing this post then but my computer started making scary noises so I thought I had better turn it off and give it a rest for the night. Anyway it seems to be alright now.

I always look forward to the winter solstice, it is the time that we should really be celebrating instead of Christmas. Now I can look forward to brighter days ahead and even if we are in the midst of a horrible freeze, I still feel that we’ve got to the top of a really steep hill and we’re freewheeling along to the spring now.

Scotland has loads of standing stone sites which obviously had great significance for our ancestors and they are really interesting, atmospheric places to visit.

Take a look at the Maeshowe website if you want to find out more.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

